Tales of a Synsuous Nature #4 - Her New Family

09/18/2012 09:47

One day, while exploring the city, Synsuous accidentally entered someone’s home. It was not her fault, really; the house was on a busy intersection and the door was wide open, so she thought perhaps it was a tavern. Looking around, she realized that it was not, in fact, a tavern but someone’s home and that that someone was looking at her. She started to leave, begging forgiveness for the intrusion, when the person stopped her.

‘Why did you just walk into my house?’, the person asked. ‘I thought it was a tavern. Please, forgive me.’ ‘You look rather young to be entering that sort of place. Why do you intend to?’, she was asked. ‘I haven’t eaten in days and I was hoping to sing for my supper.’

‘You haven’t eaten for days? Why?’, the person queries. ‘I am new here and I am alone and no one will hire me to sing’, is her reply. ‘Well, there is food on the stove and if you sing a song, you are welcome to your fill’.

Synsuous gladly sings a song and then proceeds to eat enough food for two, if not three people. After she has had enough, she thanks her host graciously and prepares to leave. Once again, she is stopped. ‘Hold on now, I liked your singing and perhaps I may have a job or two for you as well.’ Synsuous looks excited! ‘Really, you will hire me? What would I do? I only know how to sing. And clean. Clean, clean, clean, clean! That is all my dad would allow me to do. I -will- not clean anymore!’, she exclaims.

Her host finally introduces himself, ‘I am Lord Tirithion Lasarilia an-’. Before he can utter another word, Synsuous, now looking very pale, is backing rapidly towards the door! ‘I’m sorry, your grace! Please forgive me your grace! I will leave immediately!’

Trrithion looking quite confused, stops her from leaving a third time, ‘Where are you going in such a hurry? Why do you look so pale?’ ‘Please don’t kill me your grace!’, she cries.

Trrithion now looks very confused, ‘Why would I want to kill you?’ “‘Nobles’ll gut ya like a fish, just fer the sport o’ it’ That is what my dad says.”, is her answer.

‘There are nobles who do have rather crude taste in entertainment, but rest assured, I am not one of them. Now, as I was saying, if you are capable of listening to what you hear while you are in the various taverns and report back to me, you can live here, in a room in the back. There will also be opportunities for you to sing at parties.’, Trrithion explains.

Synsuous is stunned with the opportunity before her and it is almost a full minute before she is capable of formulating a reply. ‘Yes, your grace! I accept! I will do anything you ask of me! Well, except clean! I don’t do windows!’